Home      Log In      Contacts      FAQs      INSTICC Portal

Program Committee

Program Chair

Athanasios Tsanas
University of Edinburgh
United Kingdom

Brief Bio
Thanasis studied Engineering for his undergraduate and MSc degrees and completed a PhD in Applied Mathematics at the University of Oxford (2012). He continued working at the University of Oxford as a Research Fellow in Biomedical Engineering and Applied Mathematics (2012-2016), Stipendiary Lecturer in Engineering Science (2014-2016), and Lecturer in Statistical Research Methods (2016-2019); he joined the Usher Institute, Edinburgh Medical School, University of Edinburgh in January 2017 on a prestigious tenure-track Chancellor’s Fellowship. He secured tenure a year early, in December 2019, and was promoted to Associate Professor in Data Science (May 2020). Thanasis founded and leads the inter-disciplinary Data Analytics Research and Technology in Healthcare (DARTH) group ( He received the Andrew Goudie award (top PhD student across all disciplines, St. Cross, University of Oxford, 2011), the EPSRC Doctoral Prize award (2012), won the annual Physionet competition on 'Predicting mortality of ICU patients' (2012, as a key member of the Oxford biomedical engineering team) the young scientist award (MAVEBA, 2013), the EPSRC Statistics and Machine Learning award (2015), and won a ‘Best reviewer award’ from the IEEE Journal of Biomedical Health Informatics (2015). One of his research papers has been highlighted as a ‘key scientific article’ in Renewable Energy and Global Innovations, whilst some of his work has been covered in the media including Reuters. He leads the development and delivery of the 'Clinical Decision Support and Actionable Data Analytics' theme in the NHS Digital Academy, an innovative leadership programme in the UK which aims to annually train 100 CIOs and CCIOs and transform the NHS. He sits on the Editorial Boards of JMIR Mental Health and JMIR mHealth and uHealth. He is a Senior Member of IEEE, a Fellow of the Higher Education Academy, and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Medicine. ... More >>


Eda Akman Aydin, Gazi University, Turkey
Raul Alcaraz, Biomedical Engineering Research Group, University of Castilla-La Mancha, Spain
Robert Allen, University of Southampton, United Kingdom
Jesús B. Alonso, Universidad de Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Eberhard Beck, Brandenburg University of Applied Sciences, Germany
Peter Bentley, UCL, United Kingdom
Guy Carrault, University of Rennes 1, France
Maria Claudia Castro, Centro Universitário FEI, Brazil
Jan Cornelis, VUB, Belgium
Adam Czajka, University of Notre Dame, United States
Petr Dolezel, University of Pardubice, Czech Republic
Pedro Encarnação, Universidade Católica Portuguesa, Portugal
Tolga Ensari, Arkansas Tech University, United States
Javier Garcia-Casado, Universitat Politècnica de València, Spain
Pedro Gómez Vilda, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain
Inan Güler, Gazi University, Turkey
Thomas Hinze, Friedrich Schiller University Jena, Germany
Junichi Hori, Niigata University, Japan
Roberto Hornero, University of Valladolid, Spain
Jiri Jan, University of Technology Brno, Czech Republic
Aleksandar Jeremic, McMaster University, Canada
Akos Jobbagy, Budapest Univ. of Tech. and Econ., Hungary
Gordana Jovanovic Dolecek, Institute INAOE, Mexico
Natalya Kizilova, Warsaw University of Technology, Poland
Lenka Lhotska, Czech Technical University in Prague, Czech Republic
Harald Loose, Brandenburg University of Applied Sciences, Germany
Carlos Maciel, University of São Paulo, Brazil
S. Maheswaran, Department of ECE, Kongu Engineering College, India
Luca Mainardi, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
Jan Mares, University of Chemistry and Technology, Czech Republic
Jirí Mekyska, Brno University of Technology, Czech Republic
Fernando Monteiro, Polytechnic Institute of Bragança, Portugal
Mihaela Morega, University Politehnica of Bucharest, Romania
Minoru Nakayama, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
Joanna Isabelle Olszewska, University of West Scotland, United Kingdom
Rui Pedro Paiva, University of Coimbra, Portugal
Ramaswamy Palaniappan, University of Kent, United Kingdom
George Panoutsos, The University of Sheffield, United Kingdom
Gennaro Percannella, University of Salerno, Italy
Riccardo Pernice, University of Palermo, Italy
Vitor Pires, Escola Superior de Tecnologia de Setúbal - Instituto Politécnico de Setúbal, Portugal
Fabienne Poree, Université de Rennes 1, France
Shitala Prasad, I2R, A*Star Singapore, Singapore
José Joaquín Rieta, Universidad Politécnica de Valencia, Spain
Pedro Rodrigues, Faculty of Biotechnology, Universidade Católica Portuguesa, Porto, Portugal
Heather Ruskin, Dublin City University, Ireland
Giovanni Saggio, University of Tor Vergata, Rome, Italy
Andrews Samraj, Mahendra Engineering College, India
Reinhard Schneider, Fachhochschule Vorarlberg, Austria
Lotfi Senhadji, University of Rennes 1, France
Zdenek Smekal, Brno University of Technology, Czech Republic
H. So, City University of Hong Kong, China
Jordi Solé-Casals, University of Vic - Central University of Catalonia, Spain
Wallapak Tavanapong, Iowa State University, United States
António Teixeira, University of Aveiro, Portugal
Carlos Thomaz, Centro Universitário FEI, Brazil
Hua-Nong Ting, University of Malaya, Malaysia
Carlos Travieso-González, Universidad de Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Egon L. van den Broek, Utrecht University, Netherlands
Pedro Vaz, University of Coimbra, Portugal
Yuanyuan Wang, Fudan University, China
Didier Wolf, CRAN UMR CNRS 7039-Université de Lorraine, France
Chia-Hung Yeh, National Sun Yat-sen University, Taiwan, Republic of China
Rafal Zdunek, Politechnika Wroclawska, Poland

(list not yet complete)