Home      INSTICC Portal
Call for Papers

BIOSIGNALS is sponsored by INSTICC – Institute for Systems and Technologies of Information, Control and Communication

The purpose of the International Conference on Bio-inspired Systems and Signal Processing is to bring together researchers and practitioners from multiple areas of knowledge, including biology, medicine, engineering and other physical sciences, interested in studying and using models and techniques inspired from or applied to biological systems. A diversity of signal types can be found in this area, including image, audio and other biological sources of information. The analysis and use of these signals is a multidisciplinary area including signal processing, pattern recognition and computational intelligence techniques, amongst others.

BIOSIGNALS encourages authors to submit papers to one of the main topics indicated below, describing original work, including methods, techniques, advanced prototypes, applications, systems, tools or survey papers, reporting research results and/or indicating future directions. Accepted papers will be presented at the conference by one of the authors and published in the proceedings. Acceptance will be based on quality, relevance and originality. There will be both oral and poster sessions.
The proceedings will be indexed by several major international indexers.
Special sessions are also welcome. Please contact the secretariat for further information on how to propose a special session.

Conference Topics

› Medical Signal Acquisition, Analysis and Processing
› Wearable Sensors and Systems
› Real-time Systems
› Biometrics
› Pattern Recognition
› Fuzzy Systems and Signals
› Evolutionary Systems
› Neural Networks
› Speech Recognition
› Acoustic Signal Processing
› Time and Frequency Response
› Wavelet Transform
› Medical Image Detection, Acquisition, Analysis and Processing
› Physiological Processes and Bio-signal Modeling, Non-linear Dynamics
› Monitoring and Telemetry
› Cybernetics and User Interface Technologies
› Electromagnetic Fields in Biology and Medicine
› Cardiovascular Signals
› Image Analysis and Processing
› Detection and Identification
› Motion Control

Keynote Speakers

Mário Forjaz Secca, Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal
Tanja Schultz, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany


All accepted papers will be published in the conference proceedings, under an ISBN reference, on paper and on CD-ROM support.
All papers presented at the conference venue will be available at the SciTePress Digital Library (http://www.scitepress.org/DigitalLibrary/).
A short list of presented papers will be selected so that revised and extended versions of these papers will be published by Springer-Verlag in a CCIS Series book.
The proceedings will be submitted for indexation by Thomson Reuters Conference Proceedings Citation Index, INSPEC, DBLP and EI.

Program Chair
Fabio Babiloni, Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
Program Committee

Fabio Aloise, IRCCS Fondazione Santa Lucia, Italy
Fernando Alonso-Fernandez, Universidad Autonoma de Madrid, Spain
Egon L. van den Broek, Human-Centered Computing Consultancy / University of Twente / Radboud UMC Nijmegen, Netherlands
Tolga Can, Middle East Technical University, Turkey
Francis Castanie, TeSA, France
M. Emre Celebi, Louisiana State University in Shreveport, United States
Joselito Chua, Monash University, Australia
Albert C. S. Chung, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong, China
Jan Cornelis, VUB, Belgium
Fernando Cruz-Roldán, Universidad de Alcalá, Spain
Jose-Jesus Fernandez, National Centre for Biotechnology (CNB), National Research Council (CSIC), Spain
Eugene Fink, Carnegie Mellon University, United States
Arfan Ghani, University of Ulster, United Kingdom
Juan I. Godino-Llorente, Dept. Ingeniería de Circuitos y Sistemas, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain
Christian Jutten, GIPSA-lab, France
Kaustubh Kale, Motorola Inc., United States
Georgios Kontaxakis, Universidad Politecnica de Madrid, Spain
Lenka Lhotska, Czech Technical University in Prague, Faculty of Electrical Engineering, Czech Republic
Marco Loog, Delft University of Technology, Netherlands
Mahdi Mahfouf, The University of Sheffield, United Kingdom
Mohammad Mahfuz, University of Ottawa, Canada
Corinne Mailhes, University of Toulouse, France
Mihaela Morega, University Politehnica of Bucharest, Romania
Tadashi Nakano, Osaka University, Japan
Kazuhiro Oiwa, National Institute of Information and Communications Technology, Japan
George Panoutsos, The University of Sheffield, United Kingdom
Sever Pasca, University Politehnica of Bucharest, Romania
Hanchuan Peng, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, United States
Gennaro Percannella, University of Salerno, Italy
Tuan Pham, University of New South Wales, Australia
Vitor Pires, Escola Superior de Tecnologia de Setúbal - IPS, Portugal
Lucia Rita Quitadamo, University of Tor Vergata, Italy
Dick de Ridder, Delft University of Technology, Netherlands
Marcos Rodrigues, Sheffield Hallam University, United Kingdom
Jianhua Ruan, University of Texas at San Antonio, United States
Wim L. C. Rutten, University of Twente, Netherlands
Saeid Sanei, Cardiff University, United Kingdom
Carlo Sansone, University of Naples, Italy
Andres Santos, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain
Gerald Schaefer, Loughborough University, United Kingdom
Peter Schelkens, Vrije Universiteit Brussel (VUB), Belgium
Emanuele Schiavi, Universidad Rey Juan Carlos, Spain
Tapio Seppänen, University of Oulu, Finland
Iryna Skrypnyk, University of Jyvaskyla, Finland
Daby Sow, IBM T. J. Watson Research Center, United States
Ana Susac, University of Zagreb, Croatia
Asser Tantawi, IBM, United States
Wallapak Tavanapong, Iowa State University, United States
Gianluca Tempesti, University of York, United Kingdom
Carlos M. Travieso, University of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Bart Vanrumste, Katholieke Hogeschool Kempen, Belgium
Giovanni Vecchiato, University of Rome, Sapienza, Italy
Dimitri Van De Ville, EPFL/University of Geneva, Switzerland
Eric Wade, USC Division of Biokinesiology and Physical Therapy, United States
Yuanyuan Wang, Fudan University, China
Didier Wolf, CRAN CNRS UMR 7039, France
Huiyu Zhou, Queen's University Belfast, United Kingdom